Changes to NY DWI Laws & Penalties on 8/15/10
The New York state Legistature passed tougher penalties and new restrictions for DWI convictions to go into effect on August 15, 2010.
Known as “Leandra’s Law”, the new law mandates an ignition interlock device, and adds new penalties for DWI with a minor in the car.
Overview of New NY DWI Penalties Under Leandra’s Law
- Anyone convicted of a DWI must have an ignition interlock device installed in their car as a condiciton of license reistantement. The ignition interlock requirement will be a driver’s license restriction for any vehicle the person drives. The IID requirement will be for at least 6 months.
- Anyone charged with a DWI for driving while a person under 16 years of age is in the car faces a Class E Felony, punishable by up to 4 years in prison.
- Causing death to a child under 16 while in a vehicle accident while impaired is a Class B felony, punishable by up to 25 years in prison.
- Causing injury to a child under 16 while in a vehicle accident while impaired is a Class c felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
In addition, parents who violate the DWI with an underage child in the car will be reported to the NY Child Abuse Registry.
Charged with DWI in New York State? Call to speak with a New York criminal defense lawyer now to discuss your case, and what we can do in your defense.
The consultation and evaluation of your best defense options is free. Call (888) 435-4744 today.