Get the legal help you need to Save Your Right to Drive!
Having your driver’s license suspended can be a serious hardship when driving is required for you to keep your job and manage your everyday existence.
If your license is under suspension, I sympathize. If you don’t live in the city, it’s a really challenging problem.
But unfortunately, “Operation while license or privilege is suspended or revoked” as it is called under New York law can be a serious criminal charge.
When you are facing a criminal offense that can seriously affect your livelihood and your future, it makes sense to look for every legal opportunity to find a way out of this legal problem.
And there is a real risk of jail time for many suspended license offenses. But even without that risk, you are looking at significant fines, and an extended loss of your driver’s license, as well as a permanent criminal record if you are found guilty.
We can help in many cases. There may be excellent legal defenses in your circumstances. You may not have been properly notified of the loss of your New York state driver’s license. Or you may be legitimately licensed in another state, or at least thought you had a valid out of state or international license.
These cases get a little complicated quickly, and you need an attorney who knows both New York criminal law and New York State Department of Motor Vehicles licensing procedures and regulations.
Whatever the case, please contact us for a free legal case evaluation on your driving while license suspended in New York charge. We can help you fight to keep your license, and keep your record clean.
Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle Laws
For driving while unlicensed / license suspension charges, you are looking at possible jail time, fines, and probation if you are found guilty by the NY criminal courts.
You will also face likely additional license suspension time from the NYSDMV, as well as increases in your auto insurance rates.
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle in the Third Degree – Penalties
Most first offense license suspension cases are consider 3rd degree charges.
3rd Degree unlicensed operation is a misdemeanor charge with the following penalties:
- Jail time up to 30 days
- Fines of 250-$500
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle in the Second Degree – Penalties
A license suspension offense is a second degree charge if
- you have a previous conviction within 1 1/2 years, or
- your license is under suspension for refusing to take a breath test after a DWI arrest or as part of a DWI sentence.
- You have 3 or more previous suspensions for any unpaid fines.
2nd Degree unlicensed operation is a misdemeanor charge with the following penalties:
- Jail time up to 6 months (mandatory 7 days for DWI related suspensions)
- Fines of $500-$1000
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a Motor Vehicle in the First Degree – Penalties
A license suspension offense is a first degree charge if
- You are charged with DWI and a license suspension offense
1st Degree unlicensed operation is a Class E felony charge with the following penalties:
- Jail time (varies)
- Fines of $500-$5000
Free Criminal Defense Consultation on Driving on a Suspended License in New York State
Our attorneys can walk you through what you are facing, both in criminal court and in additional DMV penalties.
We will go over you case to find the best defense options to keep your record clean, and preserve your license.
So contact us today for your case evaluation.
Call (888) 435-4744 now for the help you need.