New York “Leaving the Scene”

Hit and Run Charge? Defend Your Rights

Being involved in an auto accident can be extremely stressful. With damage to your vehicle and possibly even injuries, the last thing you want to deal with is a criminal charge. If you are facing hit and run charges in New York State for leaving the scene of an accident, you need an aggressive attorney fighting for your case.

Whether the accident caused only property damage or even if it resulted in injury, you could face charges for leaving the scene. When involved in an accident you are required by law to stay at the scene, exchange information with the other driver or police, and wait for medical help to arrive for any injured parties.

Immediately following the accident, your adrenaline was probably pumping and you may have made a bad decision. This is understandable to many people. And maybe, you were unaware that the law required you to stay at the scene. While this may not be a sufficient defense to the court, it could help explain why you left.

Or you may be innocent of the charges. It could be a case of mistaken identity, or someone else was driving your car. This happens, however you need to clear up this potentially serious legal problem quickly and proactively.

Regardless of what happened, you are now accused of a crime. You are facing criminal charges, fines, and possibly jail time.

Our attorneys know how to defend and protect you in court from a  hit and run charge in New York. Experienced lawyers know what you are up against, and what it takes to win, or at least minimize the damage and penalties you are facing.

You need an attorney willing to fight for your rights and freedom. We are willing to put in the time and effort to make certain you leave court with the best possible results.

Contact us today to find out exactly what we can do for you.

NY Leaving the Scene of An Accident Laws (Hit and Run)

The charge and sentence you face depend largely on what happened during the accident. Obviously if someone was hurt, your penalty will be harsher than if the accident was just a fender bender.

Property Damage Only

If the accident only involves damage to property (usually another vehicle), and you leave the scene without talking to the other driver or leaving your information, you will receive a traffic infraction.

This traffic offense carries a potential sentence of 15 days in jail and up to $250 in fines.

Injury

If the accident caused injury to someone and you leave the scene, you will face criminal prosecution. In most circumstances this offense is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and fines of $500 to $1,000.

If, you have a previous hit and run charge, you will be charged with a second offense leaving the scene of injury,  a Class E felony in NY, punishable by up to 4 years in prison and fines ranging from $1,000 to $2,500.

Ref: 6 NYVAT 22.600

Free Consultation on a New York “Hit and Run” Charge

Facing criminal charges like these could mean a permanent mark on a  criminal record. This type of offense could follow you for the rest of your life, and show up on instant background checks for years or decades in the future.

We want to help you get the fair treatment you deserve. We can be that tireless, aggressive defender you need going to bat for you on your day in court. Give us a call today to discuss your case.

Call us or contact us. (888) 435-4744

The Lawyers of NewYork-Defense-Lawyer.com

 

Be Sociable, Share!