Don’t Let a Criminal Harassment Charge Ruin Your Life!
New York’s laws against Harassment, are strict and serious. You can face jail time and risk a permanent criminal record for something that might be a misunderstanding or a situation that has been blown out of proportion.
Charges of Harassment and Aggravated Harassment often come from a situation where one person accuses the other of following, stalking, and/or threatening. These charges also result from situations where people of different races, religions, national origin, etc. fight, damage property, or intimidate.
To protect yourself, any person charged with criminal harassment should contact us to speak to an experienced New York criminal defense attorney. Call for a free case evaluation and criminal defense consultation on harassment or aggravated harassment charges in New York. (888) 435-4744
NY Harassment Laws & Penalties
Aggravated Harassment in the First Degree – 240.31
First degree aggravated harassment is usually a “hate crime” related charge which may involve Criminal Mischief, or a second offense aggravated harassment charge under New York law.
In order to prove that someone is guilty of Aggravated Harassment in the First Degree, it must be established that the person:
- had the intent to annoy, threaten, or alarm another person,
- because of that person’s race, color, religion or national origin, and
- did more than $50 worth of damage to premises used primarily for religious purposes.
commits Aggravated Harassment in the Second Degree and has been previously convicted of Aggravated Harassment in the First Degree within the preceding 10 years.
Aggravated Harassment in the 1st degree is an E Felony charge.
Aggravated Harassment in the Second Degree – 240.30
In order to prove that someone is guilty of Aggravated Harassment in the First Degree, it must be established that the individual:
1) with the intent to annoy, threaten, or alarm another person,
2) communicates or causes someone to communicate with another person in a manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm.
3) hits, kicks, shoves, etc. another person because of that person’s race, color, religion, or national origin.
Aggravated Harassment in the 2nd degree is an A Misdemeanor charge.
Harassment in the First Degree – 240.25
In order to prove that someone is guilty of Harassment in the First Degree, it must be established that the individual:
1) intentionally and repeatedly harasses another person, by following the person in a public place, or
2) by engaging in a course of conduct which places the person in reasonable fear of physical injury.
Harassment in the 1st degree is a B Misdemeanor charge.
Free Legal Consultation on New York Criminal Harassment or Aggravated Harassment Charges
Call us to talk about your aggravated harassment, harassment or related New York state criminal offenses. We will provide a free legal consultation on your case. Call (888) 435-4744 now for the help you need.
Don’t plead guilty and agree to even a criminal conviction on your record without making sure you can’t do much better. Call us at (888) 435-4744 for a consultation now.